I’m in love

SUP recap:

29 days

17 stand-up Paddleboarding virgins

4 nationalities (American, Swiss, New Zealand, British)

2 dogs

If you know me, have heard of me, or have seen my Instagram and Facebook feeds, you’ll know what I’m talking about. My new love is stand-up paddle boarding. It started last winter when Toni and I were in the Turks and Caicos. We decided to rent paddle boards and just give it a whirl. We’d never tired it at all. But sweet jesus WAS IT FUN. We didn’t fall despite the wind chop and waves and I knew right then and there that I must have one! I had HUGE plans for the spring. Aaaaaand then I broke the living SHIT outta my ankle while in Guam, in March. What followed was about 6 weeks of being house bound, a surgery, a whole lotta metal in my leg, crutches, a peg leg, months of physical therapy, 25 lbs of gained weight, and a complete and total appreciation of those around me.

When I finally got the go ahead from my surgeon that I could continue on with my life, I was so grateful that I decided that paddle boarding would be a gentle and low impact way to get back on my feet (literally). My physical therapist encouraged me to go for it. So, through my friend, Harmony, owner of UrbanOcean, that I knew from my good ole Mexico days, I ordered some gorgeous SUPlove paddle boards.

When I finally got them in the mail, I could barely wait to get on the water. I ripped into the boxes immediately. And my love affair began.

IMG_7258

It’s like Christmas!!

IMG_7255

My boards’ new home on my mama’s floating home on the Columbia River.

IMG_7333

First wobbly try with my bunk ankle.

IMG_7435

This is the face my face makes every time I’m out paddling…

IMG_7492

My mama, at 64 years young, took to it like a fish to water. A natural!

IMG_7596

Moe showing off his skillz

IMG_7632

The smiles that I’ve seen taking people out has made this the best part of my summer.

IMG_8145

DOGS!!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

