Our local pub.

The day after I got here, Michelle took me to her favorite pub, The Huntsman. She told me it really was the perfect local pub. And goddamn if she wasn’t right!

Let me just tell you that the woman that runs the pub is amazing. Emma makes everyone feel welcome to her little corner of the world.

Emma, on the right, and Lola on the left, did not actaully plan on wearing their matching animal print Hammer pants. It was simply a gorgeous coincidence. Emma did take it a step further with the socks and flip flops.

Me? She had her own way of accepting me into the fold. This is how we met:

Michelle: Emma! This is my friend Lauren that I’ve been telling you about!

Me: Emma, my name is Lauren, nice to meet you.

Emma: Nice to meet you too, Lauren. Are you single?

Me: Um….Yeah?

Emma (turning to the rest of the bar): Everyone listen up! This here is Lauren. She just flew in from the States yesterday. She is living here for 6 months. She is single and I’m finding her a husband! Line up, boys!

I then stood there awkwardly denying it all.

As most of you know, I am definitely NOT here to look for a husband. But I will tell you what, I haven’t had to buy a drink when I’m in there!

Other than drinks getting bought for me by every eligible bachelor in the county, there are actually quite a few things I love about this place. One is that we are in the English countryside and dog are welcome everywhere.

Dogs in the pub are an every day occurance. These pups are just hoping for some crumbs!

Basically, I love it there. The food is amazing, everyone knows each other, the people are friendly, and the drinks are flowing. It’s hard not to go there most nights for some non-child socialization. But I’m doing pretty well by limiting myself to once a week.

6 thoughts on “Our local pub.

  1. Oh the hammer pants! I found those to be the unfortunate fashion sensation across the three countries we visited. I pray they don’t find their way back into the US!

    • Oh, it will make it over there for sure. I remember 10 years ago, when i was in Spain. I thought ‘what douchebags to rock a mullet still!’. um yeah. 2 years later in L.A. and the ironic mullet wasn’t so ironic any more!!

  2. The oddest and most random way that the English countryside is similar to Mexico is that dogs are allowed in the bars.

  3. Pingback: Unconventional Christmas « Uncontrollable Awesomeness

  4. I feel that is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m satisfied studying your article. But wanna remark on some normal issues, The website style is great, the articles is really great : D. Just right activity, cheers

Leave a Reply

