adios, estados unidos

Today is my last day in the U.S.

I just left L.A. after visiting David Ray for a few days. I was even able to see Shannon Evans and Dan Applegate. High school friends that I haven’t seen in over a decade!!!

It was David’s birthday and he had his annual Kostume Karaoke party. This year’s theme was “The Future”. I went as myself in the future. This is how I imagine myself: A gamblin’, hard partyin’ old lady named Nickel Slots:

nickel slots

The party was a blast, and David Ray rocked it as a marooned astronaut.

IMG_3425

After L.A, I jumped on yet another train down to San Diego to meet up with my boat. The boat that I’m doing the Baja Ha-Ha on is leaving tomorrow morning with me and six strangers on it. I’m starting to think that I’m a little spoiled already. The boat that I got a ride on (thank you, Garret) is a gorgeous, well maintained J160 named Pipe dream IX with three around-the-world passages. It has most recently made it’s way down from Alaska. Here she is anchored in Alaska:

Pipe dream

Today was the kick off party for the Baja Ha-Ha. It was costumed. I, of course, had to dress up.

IMG_3568

As for me, I’m so stupidly excited and nervous to leave everyone and everything behind, my stomach hurts. The beginning of this adventure is real now, and everything will be unfamiliar. I’m not going to have a cell phone even!

I’ll be incommunicado for a couple weeks while I’m sailing. So don’t freak out if you don’t hear form me for a while.

Love you all!

10 thoughts on “adios, estados unidos

  1. Oh my gosh Lauren, you’re so cute! I like that you get to dress up all the time.

    That boat! no wonder people are always like “I’m on a boat annnnd I’m goin’ fast annd……..Laurens the most uncontrollably awesome captain…

    xoxoox.

  2. I LOVED seeing you. The US of A will miss you, but at the same time, you’re gonna be delivering us uncontrollable awesomeness from afar!! Ahoy mate!! Ummm, yeah, see you when you get back!!

  3. Your are very, VERY foxy in that dress. I 2nd that motion for it to be a profile pic. Best of luck and bon voyage!!

  4. I think that Nickel Slots should be your profile picture!!! GOOD LUCK MY LOVE!!! You are going to have so much fun! I love you.

Leave a Reply

